December 13th, 2010 by SFFCC

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle has named “The Social Network” the Best Picture of 2010, while its writer Aaron Sorkin took the prize for Best Adapted Screenplay. In a tie vote, “The Social Network” helmer David Fincher shares the Best Director award with Darren Aronofsky, director of “Black Swan.”

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC), which includes twenty-nine Bay Area film critics, also honored “The King’s Speech” star Colin Firth in the Best Actor category (Firth repeats in this category, following his SFFCC Best Actor win for “A Single Man” last year). Best Actress honors go to Michelle Williams of “Blue Valentine,” as half of a married couple whose love faces the test of time. Two noir-ish turns nabbed supporting awards: John Hawkes as Best Supporting Actor for “Winter’s Bone” and Jacki Weaver as Best Supporting Actress for “Animal Kingdom.”

Best Original Screenplay went to David Seidler for “The King’s Speech,” a British historical drama detailing the role of speech therapy in launching King George VI’s reign. Best Cinematography honors went to Matthew Libatique for his colorfully dynamic photography of “Black Swan.”

For Best Documentary, the San Francisco critics picked “The Tillman Story”—a Bay Area tragedy thrown onto a national stage as Army Ranger Pat Tillman’s family fought for the truth about his combat death. Best Foreign Language Film went to South Korean filmmaker Bong Joon-ho’s offbeat thriller “Mother” (“Madeo”), and “Toy Story 3” was named Best Animated Feature.

The group presented its Marlon Riggs Award, honoring a Bay Area filmmaker or individual who represents courage and innovation in the world of cinema, to Elliot Lavine, a teacher, exhibitor, and repertory curator who has brought fresh attention to neglected films.

The full list of winners for the 2010 San Francisco Film Critics Circle Awards follows.

Best Picture
“The Social Network”

Best Director
TIE: Darren Aronofsky for “Black Swan”
TIE: David Fincher for “The Social Network”

Best Original Screenplay
David Seidler for “The King’s Speech”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Aaron Sorkin for “The Social Network”

Best Actor
Colin Firth for “The King’s Speech”

Best Actress
Michelle Williams for “Blue Valentine”

Best Supporting Actor
John Hawkes for “Winter’s Bone”

Best Supporting Actress
Jacki Weaver for “Animal Kingdom”

Best Animated Feature
“Toy Story 3”

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Documentary
“The Tillman Story”

Best Cinematography
Matthew Libatique for “Black Swan”

Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community
Elliot Lavine, in recognition of his two decades of film programming, his revival of rare archival and independent titles, and his role in the renewed popularity of film noir and pre-Production Code features

One Response  
  • marykate writes:
    December 15th, 201010:01 pmat

    Darren Aronofsky, David Fincher and Aaron Sorkin should feel honored to be recognized with Elliot Lavine. Finally, recognition for someone who has really made a difference in the film world. San Francisco is known for never recognizing its own, and the San Francisco Film Critics Circle has taken a big step in rectifying that with the Marlon RIggs Award. Yay!

»  Substance:WordPress   »  Style:Ahren Ahimsa
© San Francisco Film Critics Circle